Monday, January 1, 2007

C-47: Georgia Short Film Showcase

The inaugural round of the Georgia Public Broadcasting C-47: Georgia Short Film Showcase is now underway. Twenty film submissions were received from Georgia filmmakers for the Fall 2006 competition. Thirteen individuals were chosen to serve on the Jury for their professional qualifications and experience in film media and/or academics and their knowledge of the Georgia film community. Their expertise in the entertainment industry will undoubtedly help to catapult and build the C-47 project over the coming months.

C-47 Jurors for Fall 2006:
Linda Dubler, Media Arts Curator for the High Museum; Amy Clark, Rome Convention Visitors Bureau; Patrick McGuire, Director of Valdosta Film Commission and Associate Film Professor at Valdosta State University; Ralph Wilcox, Director of Southwest Georgia Film Commission; Teodoro Maus, Filmmaker and former Mexican Consul for Atlanta; James Knight, Head of Entertainment Business Development at Crawford Communications; Joe Binford, Jr., Filmmaker and COO Chicken Filters; Nate Kohn, Film Producer and Professor at University of Georgia; Scott Tigchelaar, President of Riverwood Studios; Sylvia Jackson, Producer/Director Film Captive Productions; Bo Shurling, Film Publicist/Writer; Simon Kornblitt, former Vice President of Marketing, Universal Pictures; and Steve Bell, Director of Macon Film Office.

The first C-47 quarterly winner will be chosen in January.