Tuesday, December 12, 2006

The 14th Annual Bus Trip Across Georgia

Georgia Public Broadcasting joined educators, business, government and community leaders from around the state for the 14th Annual GPEE Bus Trip Across Georgia on Sept. 25-27 and Oct. 24-26. The Bus Trip is designed to both celebrate achievement and share best practices.

This year's trip visited 15 public schools and one technical college. Each school has a proven track-record of academic excellence, educational innovation and sustained performance. These top achieving schools were chosen from a nominated group of 119 schools around Georgia.

A thorough selection process narrowed the list down to a final group of top achieving schools before the routes and stops were selected. A diverse mix of schools were chosen - grades, charter, magnet and special programs - in order for participants to get a clear understanding of what the Georgia Public School System offers.

Schools on the northern route included North Mulberry Elementary School, Jackson (Butts County); International Community School, Decatur (DeKalb County); Lanier Technical College, Oakwood (Hall County); Mimosa Elementary School, Roswell (Fulton County); LaBelle Elementary School, Marietta (Cobb County); Woodstock Middle School (Cherokee County); Bremen High School, Bremen (Bremen City School System); Roopville Elementary School (Carroll County).

Eastern route schools include Maxwell Elementary School, Thomson (McDuffie County); Davidson Magnet School, Augusta (Richmond County); Mattie Lively Elementary School, Statesboro (Bulloch County); Richmond Hill Middle School (Bryan County); Oglethorpe Charter School, Savannah (Chatham County); Saxon Heights Elementary School, Dublin (Dublin City School System); and Dodge County High School, Eastman.

For more information about the Bus Trip, please visit www.gpee.org.